OGL 1.1 = old school tactics

Malrex

So ... slow work day? Every day?
So...what I'm hearing...is I got till Jan. 13th to keep using 1.0 OGL.

7 days to write up Sorcerers on the Shore!! A band of sorcerers are very greedy and taking all the wealth from the local villages, sucking them dry!! They must be stopped!! For levels 12-14.

squeen

8, 8, I forget what is for
I think it has got to be bit hokey (legally) to put something out there that says "in perpetuity" and then rescind it.
That's can't be right --- even in the world of bullshit corporate law.

...and then there's the whole "you can't copyright game rules" thing...

Last edited:

Malrex

My sense is that OSR will be ok...that they mainly want to combine 5e to OneD&D, but I'm not a lawyer so hard to say until the final version comes out. Seems they should of disconnected 5e with a kickass 6e version instead of trying to tie them together--then maybe a new OGL could make more sense? Regardless, it's all pretty gross and disgusting.
MM has two 5e conversions out there and I just want to take them down. Not because I'm scared of some sort of repercussion as I don't think they would be able to do that, but because I don't want to promote/support any of their shit.

Man, this hobby is tough. First being bullied, then satanic panic, nowadays being cancelled because you want to fight orcs, and now this.....hard to just play a game/enjoy a hobby these days.

Even if I was super drunk and somehow signed on to 1.1 OGL....I probably wouldnt be able to afford human artists, so a big push towards AI art will probably happen. If OSR is somehow affected, I would rather put my energy into creating a whole new game that no one would play then line their pockets with a piece of my 20$ in pennies.

Hemlock

Should be playing D&D instead
My sense is that OSR will be ok...that they mainly want to combine 5e to OneD&D, but I'm not a lawyer so hard to say until the final version comes out.