Gilded Dream of the Incandescent Queen Review

Malrex

So ... slow work day? Every day?
Gilded Dream of the Incandescent Queen is by H.D.A aka TerribleSorcery for levels 4-6 using Basic/Expert systems.

So first off....look at that cover!
GDIQ .jpg

That cover is awesome!! The blurb is enticing and sparks interest.
I'm not really a expert reviewer or anything, but I jotted down some notes into Pro's and Suggestions. Here's my thoughts.

Pro’s
I liked the adventure hooks—"all the lead in the kingdom is being stolen". "Dragons made of rain clouds". These are pretty interesting and grab a player's interest. The number of different hooks and suggestions for different ways to get to the palace is wonderful.

The wandering encounters are all doing something. I like the random acts that each could be doing. I think I would of preferred it in a table, but that’s a nitpick.

Color spray from the marble courtesans as loot...That's awesome!

Loved the random items in Room #3—I think I would of preferred to have them in a random table as PCs search the room.

The inset maps and maps are great, but hard to read with no graph/scale (i.e. says 10’ per square, but I don’t see the squares).
There is good white space between sections and bolding. I also liked the room titles that are capitalized. This combination makes it easy to separate each room description.

There is interested treasure-- ‘jade ring with a triangular seal (400 gp).' 'Gold-chased pearl handled dagger'. It makes the treasure a little more interesting.

Secret Room #26. I liked this secret room because it rewards mappers who are paying attention and gives a reason for searching for a secret door.

There are areas where the GM can expand the adventure with their own ideas, for example the teleporter or the map in the reading room (Area #28).